Materials Science and Technology Division

1998 ANS Annual Meeting - 8 June 1998

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 pm by the Chair, Doug Crawford.

Attendees

Todd Allen (ANL)
Ken Chidester (LANL)
Doug Crawford (ANL)
Jim Laidler (ANL)
Bob Seidel (ANL)
David Senor (PNNL)
Jim Tulenko (University of Florida)
Leon Walters (ANL)

Agenda

The meeting followed the attached agenda.

Minutes of Last Meeting

The minutes of the last MSTD meeting, held November 17, 1997 at Albuquerque, New Mexico, were approved as written.

Chair's Report

Doug Crawford reported on the report of the ANS Committee on Infrastructure and summarized the recommendations made by the Committee. Extended discussion followed on future Division structure and interrelationships.

Secretary-Treasurer's Report

Jim Laidler presented the Secretary-Treasurer's report, describing the current financial status of the Division. The books currently balance with the financial statement received from ANS Headquarters; the current balance is \$12,419. The Treasurer's report is attached. Laidler expressed concern that, without income from sponsorship of topical meetings and without severe reductions in annual spending, the Division would be faced with an extremely limited budget in five to ten years. After discussion by the attendees, it was agreed to seek a 5% share of the profits from the Global 99 meeting to be held in Jackson Hole, Wyoming in August/September 1999, because MSTD members are influential in the organization of this meeting. Leon Walters will approach the Fuel Cycle

and Waste Management Division to gain their concurrence and Doug Crawford will contact the ANS Eastern Idaho Section for the same purpose.

As another revenue-generating measure, Jim Tulenko suggested increasing the frequency of LWR fuel performance meetings to every two years from the present frequency of every three years. He will also check with the Fuel Cycle and Waste Management Division on the MSTD share, if any, of the proceeds from the September 1998 Charleston topical meeting on spent nuclear fuel and surplus fissile materials management.

Honors and Awards Chair's Report

Jim Stubbins was not in attendance and no report was available.

Technical Program Committee Report

Dave Senor reported for Steve Hayes. The Committee is working on six session topics for the Washington, DC meeting. The topics will span several aspects of fuel technology, excluding LWR fuel performance.

For the Boston meeting in 1999, the Committee has a number of sessions planned, covering materials issues related to accelerator-driven transmutation technology, isotope production, and FFTF restart, as well as a session on analytical methods in materials research

At the Albuquerque meeting in 1997, there was a commitment by Bruce Matthews of LANL to consider active MSTD sponsorship of subsequent meetings in the Plutonium Futures series. Ken Chidester reported that LANL does not view such participation favorably, but he will discuss the matter further with Bruce and report at the next meeting.

Doug Crawford posited two criteria for continuing viability of the Division: (1) about three special session at each national meeting, well attended; and (2) at least three topical meetings sponsored or co-sponsored by the Division on a regular schedule.

It was noted that the paper review for the Washington, DC meeting will be held in Crystal City on July 27-28.

Senor identified a need to start working on session topics for the Winter 1999 meeting. Leon Walters, who has first-hand experience with the subject, suggested a session on the pyrophoricity of actinide elements. Jim Tulenko suggested that Dan Bullen of Iowa State University be contacted in regard to a proposed session on waste forms.

Committee Chair Assignments

It was reported that Steve Hayes wishes to be replaced as chair of the program committee. Dave Senor proposed that Brent Lewis (Royal Military College, Canada) serve as chair, with Dave to continue as alternate.

Bob Seidel is overwhelmed with other ANS commitments, and will be unable to continue as cair of the publicity committee. Jim Tulenko will review the membership rolls for possible replacements.

Old Business

The MSTD Web page is available at http://www.pnl.gov/ans_mstd/. It is linked to the ANS home page (http://www.ans.org) and lists current officers, as well as honors and awards. The site is maintained by Dave Senor. It was agreed that the MSTD newsletter should promote visits to the web page.

New Business

The 1998 election report was discussed. A copy is attached. Elected Chair was James S. Tulenko. The new Vice-Chair/Chair Elect is David J. Senor. James J. Laidler continues as Secretary-Treasurer, and the newly-elected members of the Executive Committee are Dana C. Christensen, Adam B. Cohen, and James F. Stubbins. Kenan Unlu, an Executive Committee candidate who was not elected, will be offered important assignments by the incoming chair.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:30 pm.

Attachments

Attendance List Agenda Secretary/Treasurer's report Election Results

Reported by:

James J. Laidler Secretary/Treasurer

Materials Science and Technology Division