Materials Science and Technology Division

1997 ANS Annual Meeting - 2 June 1997

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 PM by the Chair, Mitch Cunningham.

Attendees

Ken Chidester (LANL)
Adam Cohen (ANL)
Doug Crawford (ANL)
Mitch Cunningham (PNNL)
Jim Laidler (ANL)
Bob Seidel (ANL)
David Senor (PNNL)
Lew Steinhoff (DOE)
Jim Tulenko (University of Florida)
Kenan Unlu (University of Texas)
Helen Vayntrub (University of California-Berkeley)

Agenda

The meeting followed the attached agenda.

Minutes of the Last Meeting

The minutes of the last MSTD meeting, held November 11, 1996 at Washington, DC, were approved as written.

Chair's Report

The results of the election of MSTD Officers and Executive Committee members for the 1997-1998 term were announced by the Chair, Mitch Cunningham. Jim Tulenko was elected Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect, Jim Laidler was elected Secretary/Treasurer, and Ken Chidester, Brent Lewis and Terry Totemeier were elected to the Executive Committee. Doug Crawford assumes the position of MSTD Chair as of the end of this meeting.

Mitch Cunningham reported that the Society is still looking for a replacement for the Executive Director (Jim Fauskas). As of the end of May, the number of ANS members is 11,342, which represents a decline of about 8.7% in the past year. MSTD membership

now stands at 820, a decrease of about 18% over the past two years. Society officers believe that the membership decline is flattening out.

Secretary/Treasurer's Report

Jim Laidler presented the Secretary/Treasurer's report, describing the current financial status of the Division as shown in the attachment. The projected 1997 income from sponsorship of the LWR Fuel Topical Meeting is \$2344; this is considerably greater than had been projected previously.

Committee Reports

Program Committee

Mitch Cunningham, who was TPC for the LWR Fuel Topical Meeting, reported that the meeting was a great success; the budget called for a profit of \$1400, whereas the actual profit was \$46,873. The Call for Papers for the Albuquerque meeting (November 16-20, 1997) was distributed; the paper review for this meeting will be held July 20-23. There will be three sessions organized by MSTD, and Steve Hayes and Dave Senor are actively soliciting papers for these sessions. Dave Senor reported that summaries of proposed sessions for the Winter 1998 meeting in Washington, DC will be due at the time of the Albuquerque meeting. Ken Chidester reported on the Plutonium Futures meeting to be held in Santa Fe in August 1997; 28 papers and 75 poster presentations have been accepted. Glenn Seaborg will participate via videotape. Doug Crawford reported that the organizers of the Actinide Separations Conference are amenable to sponsorship by ANS-MSTD; Doug or Bob Seidel will meet with conference organizers at their Charleston, SC meeting next month. Bob Seidel suggested that the storage and disposition of plutonium-bearing materials might be a fertile area for future special sessions. Kenan Unlu suggested a session on the effects of gallium on MOX fuel performance.

Honors and Awards Committee

Membership

International Liaison

The awards luncheon was neld last November in Washington, Do	C.
--	----

•	
No report.	
Publicity	
No report.	
University Interactions	
No report.	

No report.

Old Business

The MSTD Web page is now available at http://www.pnl.gov/ans_mstd/. It is linked to the ANS home page (http://www.ans.org) and lists current officers, honors and awards, historical data, and descriptions of the Albuquerque sessions. The MSTD newsletter can be scanned when it is written.

New Business

Bob Seidel reported on representation on the ANS Board of Directors; a proposed bylaws change would impose a three-year blackout period for membership as a director or director-at-large. Kenan Unlu noted that the Materials Research Society has many interests in common with MSTD and that we should extend ourselves to exploit these common interests.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:00 PM.

Attachments

Agenda Address and email list of attendees. Secretary/Treasurer's report.

Reported by:

James J. Laidler
Secretary/Treasurer

Materials Science and Technology Division