Materials Science and Technology Division

1999 ANS Winter Meeting - 15 November 1999

Attendees

Todd Allen (ANL) Carl Beard (University of Texas) Michel Billaux (Siemens) Dana Christensen (LANL) Martin Grossbeck (ORNL) Jim Laidler (ANL) Brent Lewis (Royal Military College) Sean McDeavitt (ANL) David Senor (PNNL) Jim Stubbins (University of Illinois)

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 pm by the Chair, Dave Senor.

Agenda

The meeting followed the attached agenda.

Chair's Report

Infrastructure III Status

Dave Senor reported that the National Planning Committee is being given more authority in organizing ANS meetings. The preference is for embedded topical meetings, driven by a concern for rising costs that might accompany the drive to improve the quality of future meetings. Electronic paper reviews have been adopted, beginning with the June 2001 meeting (paper review in February 2001). Authors are encouraged to submit full papers, which will be peer-reviewed. The Committee is considering establishing "tracks" for national meetings; i.e., sessions on related topics around a central theme. Division financial incentives are as related in the minutes of the June 1999 MSTD meeting.

Formation of Committees

Dave Senor reported that Brent Lewis chairs the MSTD Program Committee, Jim Stubbins chairs the Honors & Awards Committee, and Bob Seidel chairs the Publicity Committee. Board members were encouraged to volunteer to help out with the work of these committees; contact Dave by e-mail at <u>david.senor@pnl.gov</u>.

Secretary's Report

The minutes of the last MSTD meeting, held June 7, 1999 at Boston, MA, were approved as written. Jim Laidler agreed to send the minutes of this meeting to attendees by e-mail.

Treasurer's Report

Jim Laidler presented the Treasurer's report, as attached. He also reported on the status of the James F. Schumar Scholarship Fund. As shown on the attachment, the fund has a current balance of \$22,299; a scholarship was awarded in 1999 to a Purdue University graduate student, Robert M. Miller. In discussion of the proposed budget for 2000, it was moved, seconded and approved that \$601 be placed in the Scholarship fund and transferred to the Schumar Scholarship Fund so that the fund will reach \$23,000 and be available for an award in the year 2000. Carl Beard moved that MSTD support national student conferences for both the eastern and western regions, in the amount of \$250 each. The motion carried. Dana Christensen moved that the Division provide financial support for the authors of the top five student papers from the 2000 Winter Meeting, in the amount of \$400 to each author. This motion also was approved. Todd Allen reported that the Division will receive about \$4,800 as our share of the proceeds from the Global '99 meeting held in Jackson, WY last August. It was moved and approved that the balance of the 2000 budget items reflect the same totals as the planning numbers for 1999. The resultant proposed 2000 budget for MSTD is shown in the attachment.

Technical Program Committee Report

Brent Lewis reported that there were four papers in the MSTD session at this meeting. Jim Stubbins reported on the 2000 annual meeting in San Diego; the session on accelerator materials is of concern because of potential overlap with an ASTM meeting. On gas-cooled reactor fuels and materials, Jim has had some conversations with GA staff and believes that this session can be pulled together. Todd Allen reported that he has encountered some conflicts with the materials compatibility session, but has had generally positive reactions. Incentives will be in effect for the San Diego meeting, so it behooves us to push for papers.

Dana Christensen volunteered to arrange a general MSTD session for the San Diego meeting.

As regards the 2000 winter meeting in Washington DC, Sean McDeavitt reported that there are 17-20 materials-related approved NERI projects in place and that he will coordinate the organization of a session from these projects. Carl Beard will try to organize a session on advanced fuels. He will also be arranging a student focus session [for which MSTD will provide financial incentives as indicated in the Treasurer's report above]. Jim Stubbins suggested that we propose an accelerator materials session for this meeting instead of having it at the San Diego meeting. We will also need an MSTD general session at this meeting.

The 2002 LWR Fuel Performance topical meeting will probably be held in France, because most papers in recent meetings have come from Europe. Calendar placement will take place in about six months. The chair for the 2003 ANS/NACE/TMS topical meeting on environmental degradation will be Gary Was of the University of Michigan.

Brent Lewis reported on the electronic paper review system that he has created for the use of MSTD. The system will soon be linked to the MSTD web site where it will be available for the next paper review.

Honors and Awards Committee Report

Jim Stubbins reported that there will be no Honors and Awards at this meeting; it has been decided to delay the ceremony to the winter meeting in Washington, DC. He received no responses from members for award nominations and requests that all members give this matter serious consideration. Descriptions of the awards are on the MSTD web site. The next issue of the MSTD newsletter will include a call for Honors and Awards nominations.

Dave Senor will send Dana Christensen a copy of the MSTD handbook for reproduction for inclusion in the MSTD web site. Dana Christensen volunteered to put the handbook into a text file.

Membership Committee Report

David Senor reported that the membership of the Materials Science and Technology Division is down 2.1%, from 809 to 792. MSTD is the 10th largest of the 18 ANS divisions; we have the 7th highest number of non-US members (94, down from 103). We have 58 student members, not included in the 792; this makes us 9th out of 18 ANS divisions in number of student members.

Publicity Committee Report

Volunteers are needed to help with the newsletter. Two issues were published in 1999, and we hope to have two in 2000. Contact <u>Bobby Seidel</u> or <u>Dave Senor</u>.

Nominating Committee - Election Results

Dave Senor reported that the slate of nominees for the next election is as follows:

Vice Chair: Carl Beyer (PNNL) Secretary-Treasurer: Jim Laidler (ANL) Executive Committee: Brent Lewis (RMC) Carl Beard (Univ. of Texas) Lee Peddicord (Texas A&M) Ron Ballinger (MIT) One other, TBD

Michel Billaux volunteered to assist Todd Allen in the international liaison activities, to help search for an international board member.

There was no new or old business, and the meeting adjourned at 8:45 pm.

Attachments

Agenda Treasurer's report

Reported by:

James J. Laidler Secretary-Treasurer