Minutes for MSTD executive meeting, November 14, 2001, Reno, Nevada:

Attendees:

Carl Beyer	PNNL	carl.beyer@pnl.gov	509-372-4605
David Senor	PNNL	david.senor@pnl.gov	509-376-5610
Jim Stubbins	U. III.	jstubbin@uiuc.edu	217-333-6974
Ken Chidester	LANL	kchidester@lanl.gov	505-667-2358
Steven Hayes	ANL	steven.hayes@anl.gov	208-533-7255
Kenan Unlu	Cornell	ku15@cornell.edu	607-255-5224
Jim Tulenko	U. of F.	jimtulenko@mail.com	352-392-1401 ext 314
Robert Hanrahan	LANL	hanrahan@lanl.gov	505-667-9560
Bob Seidel	ANL	bob.seidel@anl.gov	208-526-2769
Todd Allen	ANL	todd.allen@anl.gov	208-533-7760
Samim Anghaie	U. of F	anghaie@ufl.edu	352-392-8653
Sean McDeavitt	ANL	mcdeavitt@anl.gov	630-252-4308
Ron Ballinger	MIT	hvymet@mit.edu	617-253-5118

Distributed minutes from the last meeting Minutes were reviewed and accepted with a couple corrections

Discussed MSTD finances

Discussed setting up Hydrogen economy sessions for next years meeting

Student award program? We should support the Student conf at Penn St. April 02 meeting coming up and for June meeting \$500 will be available for each conference. Need a university liaison to oversee student activities in the division. Ron Ballinger, MIT agreed to do this.

Programs:

Topical meeting: Samim talked to TopFuel He handed out a memo on the meeting. About 300 people attend the meeting. It lasts for 2 days and includes poster session. The next one is schedule for March 17-19 2003. It was proposed that Rosa Lang, EPRI, serve as co-chair, Jim Tulenko and Samim as members of organization committee. It was voted and agreed to. For the U.S. meeting in 2004 (March time frame.) calendar placement can wait until next year. Jim and Samim will coordinate the organization of the U.S. meeting. TSuggested place: Annapolis, MD.

Fuel cycle division will help with the next U.S. one in 06. Samim will have proposal for by the June meeting.

There is an Environmental degradation meeting in 2003. Gary Was is the program chair. August calendar placement will occur at next organization meeting.

MSTD has two full sessions and 1 half session at the Reno meeting.

The comment was made that the Supertrack meeting are not quite big enough for topical.

For the ANS June 02 meeting there will be two sessions; one on fuel and one on materials.

Full length papers are wanted for the June 02 embedded topical. email ICAPP @ANS.org 130 papers are already in; 90 from International community (Japan, Korea, and Europe)

Industrial materials are of interest but full papers are needed. There is lot's of staff support to handle the papers. Deadline is May 1, 2002 for the full papers and Jan 15, for abstracts.

Next years fall meeting is in Washington DC, (November). There will be a student session with best paper awards and an announcement of scholarship awards. A discussion ensued concerned having poster sessions with write up for students and presentations. There will be a poster session for the June 02 meeting Ron will be organizer for student session in the DC November 02 meeting. Dave Senor will set this up and put a place holder in.

There is a fusion materials embedded topical in the November 02 meeting. A hydrogen session will be put together for the November 02 meeting. There was mention that there is materials research in the DOE Neri program and materials issues in fuel recycling.

Electronic paper review will take place for the June meeting. From mid January through mid February.

Dave Senor has been program chair for a couple years. Dave would like a replacement. Carl Beyer volunteered for the meetings after June 02.

Honors and awards for division: Jim Stubbins is chair of this. These awards haven't been given for 4 years. Several awards are available at the division level. We'll plan to do this at the meeting in DC, 02.

Plutonium Futures pamphlets were handed out to attendees.

Future MSTD committee meetings: moving to Monday evening,. 7-9 PM from now on.

Samim presented several nominees: Ken Chidester for vice chair and Todd Allen for secretary/treasurer starting June 10, 2002. For the executive committee: William Dean, Travis Knight, Jim Tulenko, Brian Beebe, Dave Senor

We have three foreign members of executive committee

MSTD financial report attached.